Beer Reviews · pale ale · Wild Yeast

#62 Chorlton Citra Brett Pale – A tropical fruit sourdough sandwich

Review #62 – Chorlton Citra Brett Pale 76/100

For the Citra Brett Pale, Chorlton Brewery have been isolating different strains of Brettanomyces from very old bottles of German beer.  Up to now two batches of the Citra Brett Pale have been released, the third batch has not been released yet but according to Chorlton it will be fermented with two different strains of suspected Brettanomyces yeast isolated from a 1977 bottle of Berliner weiß. The cans I have sampled have been fermented using a single strain of suspected Brettanomyces yeast which has been given the name of RB-1, this strain was isolated from a bottle of Rheinsberg Weißbier circa 1970’s/80’s.  The batches I’ve had up to now (1+2) have proven to be excellent beers so I am really looking forward to tasting batch 3.

IMG_20160622_170240.jpg

I found the Amarillo Sour to be a touch better than this one, but that doesn’t take away from just how much I enjoyed the Citra Brett.

Out of the bottle and into a glass the beer pours a light amber colour with a generous level of haze producing a brilliant white head which disappears after a couple of minutes.

On the nose, the first thing to present itself is quite a lot of funky notes: sourdough, musty wine cellar, yeast covered grapes and damp autumn leaves.  Moving past the funk are delicate notes of citrus peel and pine needles.

On the palate the funk is a little more toned down than the nose suggests, but still quite complex and funky with notes of sourdough bread, fermented pu’er tea accompanied by a very slight sourness.  There is a little but of mango but the hop flavours are generally giving me more grapefruit, orange and pine needle notes.  The finish is long and quite dry with a lingering funk.  Medium bodied with a medium level of carbonation.  No hop bitterness at all.

Cheers

Matt

One thought on “#62 Chorlton Citra Brett Pale – A tropical fruit sourdough sandwich

  1. I leave word hear because I fooled again by Mr Matt very very bad Mr matt you so fool me once again. I show my friend male Mr matt web page and he say I wrong. Citta is a town in my home in my country and I show my friend and he say no Mr Matt wrong so we fight and he say he wants to hit me and kiss my mother on the mammary I say no thank you Mr matt is right he tell it so true , so we look for beer in shop and now he no kiss my mother and I try hit him Thank you very much Mr Matt Thank you so so very much. Cocktails soon?

    Like

Leave a Reply

