brewing · cider

My first attempt at brewing a wild cider

It’s been almost a year since I took a few sacks of apples from my neighbours apple trees, mashed them up with a big piece of wood, collected the liquid in a demijohn and allowed spontaneous fermentation to occur from the wild yeasts naturally found on the apple skins.  I didn’t measure gravity at any point so have no idea of the strength, but from experience I’d say it’s definitely above 6%ABV possibly above 7%ABV.

IMG_20160706_203833.jpg

For the first few days I became quite skeptical, the liquid just sat there producing maybe one bubble in the airlock every hour or so.  I woke up on the fourth day and it was bubbling like mad and continued to do so for around one week, after which I bottled it and allowed it to condition for another week before opening the first bottle.  It’s been around 9 months now since I bottled it and it tastes pretty great.

What I like about this cider is that it has not had any sodium metabisulphite added which is incredibly rare to find in the cider world.  This cider is nothing more than pressed apples that have fermented with nothing more than the natural yeasts on the apple skins.  I imagine this is what cider from old England would have tasted like.

I managed to filter out most of the sediment with cheesecloth and it seems the remaining sediment has stayed in the bottom of the bottle producing a nice clear, sparkling cider.

On the nose it’s really funky with an aroma profile damp hay, musty wine cellars, horse stables, Edam cheese, with slight acetic and lactic acid notes with plenty of sharp apple notes.

On the palate the funkiness of this wild cider presents itself as soon as it hits the tongue with flavours sourdough bread, Parmesan cheese rind and sauerkraut with a nice level of lactic acid that cuts through the strong musty flavours.  The dominating flavour is naturally going to be of apples, but for this cider the apple flavour is quite sweet with a long, dry, champagne like finish.

Not too shabby if I do say so myself, has the mouthfeel of a decent vintage, dry cider yet slightly sweeter with a lot more funkiness than any cider I’ve ever tasted before.

Cheers

Matt

 

Leave a Reply

