asia · japan · kyoto · Travel

Nippon over to Japan (Part 12: Kyoto)

I’m going to do Kyoto in a couple of parts I think, because looking back I have even more photographs than I got of Tokyo.  I spent a week in Kyoto and it was honestly one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visited.  Kyoto was the old Japanese capital during the Edo period, it’s much more laid back than Tokyo, more traditional and a lot less noise and neon.

Kyoto Shrine post edit.jpg

I’d always wanted to see Kyoto during the cherry blossom season but we were lucky enough to visit just as some of the trees were starting to turn in September, some of the most beautiful sights I have seen have been shrines in Kyoto surrounded by beautiful shades of green, yellow and gold.

Bamboo Forest, Kyoto Edit.jpg

The bamboo forest in Kyoto is one of those places you always seen on postcards and in magazines, fortunately the place was pretty quiet when we went there and although a lot of patience was required I managed to get this shot above without any passers by in the shot, the moment the shutter was released a person walked around the corner, I don’t think I could have got a better shot of this place even if I had more time.

Gion corner edit 3.jpg

If you do happen to visit Kyoto, you should make an effort to visit Gion, although I am sure it will already be at the top of most people’s lists.  Gion is a very old region of Kyoto and for hundreds of years women who have wished to pursue the life of a geisha have travelled from all over Japan to this area.  To become a geisha the candidate must first be selected which is a very arduous process and very few actually make the grade, for the next 5 years at least the geisha to be is a type of apprentice called maiko, they receive no pay during these years but have their food and accommodation provided as well as other necessities such as their kimonos, hair styling and makeup.  If you travel to an area called Gion corner you can watch maiko and geisha perform various art forms, most geisha in Kyoto live in Gion and it is hard to get a good look at them as they are out of the door and into the back of a taxi quicker than you can blink.

Geisha, Gion, Kyoto, Japan Iris.jpg

Gion corner edit.jpg

During our stay in Kyoto typhoon Talas decided to make an appearance, the once quiet river was a raging torrent and the monkeys up in the monkey sanctuary were getting a right good soaking.

Kyoto Monkey Post Edit.jpg

Lotus Pond Post Edit.jpg

highstreet edit.jpg

This is really just a little taster of Kyoto, I will compile some more detailed posts once all of my other photographs have been processed.  I’m also due to go out for an Oktoberfest event shortly and time has got the better of my, hence why this post is short and sweet.

Enjoy your day!

Matt

 

 

3 thoughts on “Nippon over to Japan (Part 12: Kyoto)

Leave a Reply

