Beer Reviews · sour · Wild Yeast

#98 Wild Beer Co, Somerset Wild – I beer fed from the tit of the mother apple tree.

Review #98 – Wild Brew Co Somerset Wild 76/100

Now, I’ve seen this beer described as a Berliner Weisse,  I disagree with that description and I have a little bit of a gripe about how beer styles are being slapped on beers that quite frankly do not meet the requirements of the style – I am really not going to go into a rant about this again as I’ve already mentioned it in my review on the Bourbon Skyline by Buxton brewery.  What I will mention is that I did quite like this beer and it’s definitely a sour beer but it’s not what I would call a Berliner Weisse which are typically quite clean tasting beers with a sharp sourness, light in flavour, low to medium in body and quite low in alcohol – fuck I’m starting to rant, let’s move on…

I sampled this bottle in ‘Dead Crafty’ in Liverpool, stupid fucking name but it’s a great bar and they have a fantastic array of beers with quite friendly staff.  Poured out of the bottle into a half pint glass, the beer pours a vibrant yellow colour – similar to straw or the piss of a very dehydrated human.  The beer produces a thin, brilliant white head which disperses pretty quickly and there is a nice level of haziness in this beer from the heaps of wild yeast.

To be fair on the brewers I don’t actually recall anything on the bottle that claimed that it was a Berliner Weisse, this is just something I have seen given on the commercial descriptions on the internet.  On the nose, as with anything from Wild Beer, the yeast aromas are very complex and this is something that keeps bringing me back to their beers, I was able to pick up aromas of wet tree litter, bruised apple and damp hay.  Other aromas coming through from either the barley or hops are that of candied peel, orange zest and buttery flapjacks.

On the palate this is an extremely funky beer, there is a slight lactic acid flavour coming from what I presume is some Lactobacillus strains, but this beer is definitely yeast heavy, I don’t know whether it is some Brett strains or something a bit more unusual, but this has a level of funk that gets you from your nostrils to the pit of your stomach – the yeast flavour is good if you like very funky beers; if I’m honest I prefer my sours to taste a little more on the clean side, ideally more lactic acid dominant.  The flavours that come through are that of scrumpy cider, candied peel, preserved pears, orange zest, lemon sorbet – so a very complex and quite delicious, naturally fruity tasting beer.

IMG_20160820_205310.jpg

This finish of this beer isn’t particularly long, but there is more funk that comes through and unfortunately in my opinion the funk is a little overwhelming and coupled with the sweetness became a little sickly.  If I were having this beer again I’d perhaps pair it with rich foods such as pheasant, venison or cheese, something that would compliment the strong, musty flavours coming from the yeast.

Cheers

Matt

Leave a Reply

